Thursday, June 14, 2007

Web 2.0 Online Presentation Service

In addition to desktop office applications, we have Web 2.0 online spreadsheets services as well as online word processors like Writely,gOFFICE and Thinkfree. What is clearly missing from the online suite of Web 2.0 Office Suites is an online PowerPoint service.
Now we have Thumbstacks!. It allows you to create web based PowerPoint presentations. It all runs in your web browser. You can create your presentation, save it, modify it, update it, whatever - then click ?publish? and you?ll get a link you can use to share it with everyone.

Pretty cool service. Like Num Sum had the first mover advantage for online excel spreadsheets,
Thumbstacks! has the advantage for online PowerPoint presentations

Labels: ,

View Full Post

Thursday, May 24, 2007

Take a PowerPoint to Myspace

You can use HTML coding to add color, graphics, & sound to my Profile page in Myspace. But PowerPoint can not be inserted into the Profile page for the web browser can not play it.
If you can convert a PowerPoint to flash, you can insert it to this page.
Then how to do it? Just follow the steps.
Tool needed: PPT2Flash Standard
http://www.sameshow.com/powerpoint-to-flash.php?sid=5
Download it from
http://www.sameshow.com/download/ppt2flash-download.php?sid=5

Step1. Convert PowerPoint to Flash
If you have some programming experience, you can convert PowerPoint to flash manually.
See this tutorial
http://www.sameshow.com/other/powerpoint-to-flash5.html

Or you can use some commercial converters like PPT2Flash Standard
A. Co figurate Settings:

B. Convert and Publish
Convert a PowerPoint to flash and Publish the flash file.

You should check the One Solid .swf file radio box to create a single swf file rather than single swf files.
When finished, you will have a data folder and a swf file.

Step3. Upload the converted swf files to web
You can use FREE file upload service listed here.
http://www.mediawart.com/
http://www.filepimp.com/
http://www.websamba.com/
http://www.250free.com/
http://www.geocities.com/
http://www.angelfire.com/

When upload is done,copy the URL of the uploaded flash file.

Step4. Insert the flash file to my Profile page in Myspace.
A. Log into your account in Myspace.
B. Click Edit Profile for edits

C. Use HTML coding to insert the flash to one of the target section of the profile page.




Note
" URL of the uploaded flash file" included in the coding should be the URL of the uploaded flash to web.

Labels: , , ,

View Full Post

Saturday, May 12, 2007

Copying a PowerPoint to CD

PowerPoint 2003
File-> Package for CD (CD-R/CD-RW)

This feature will enable you to play the PowerPoint on another computer with or without PowerPoint for it includes PowerPoint viewer in it.


When you choose File->Package for CD, you will see a dialog box.

This dialog gives you the option to Copy to a Folder on your hard drive, or to Copy directly to CD. As you see, linked files and the PowerPoint Viewer are included by default, regardless of which copy option you choose.

Choose "Add Files" if you have other files or presentations you want to include in the CD and they're not already linked to your presentation.

Even if you have inserted audio to the presentation, it will also included in the CD.

gdiplus.dll
intidate.dll
pptview.exe
ppvwintl.dll
pvreadme.htm
saext.dll
unicows.dll

are all the files the PowerPoint Viewer needs to run.

autorun.inf
play.bat
playlist.txt

are all files dealing with the autorun CD aspect of the CD.

Since you have PowerPoint 2003, you can just burn all these files to your CD, and you're good to go.

External Links:
1. Save a PowerPoint with music to a CD
http://www.ppt-to-dvd.com/forum/viewtopic.php?p=2685#2685

Labels: ,

View Full Post

Thursday, May 10, 2007

Play audio through a PowerPoint presetation

Set the music to play through the presentation
A .Right-click the sound's icon
B. Pick Custom Animation from the popup menu
The Custom Animation pane will open and your sound file should be listed.
C. Click the arrow directly to the right of the sound icon to pull down the various options.
D. Select Effect Options
E. Locate the Effects tab and Click the radio button beside Stop Playing after *** slides
Put 999 in the box so the track will play throughout all your slides, even if you go back and forth among slides.
PPT considers each transition a "slide," so you should put a large number in there.
F. Check the settings in the Timing tab. To play automatically, the timing should be set to Start. After Previous with a 0-second delay. Click OK to close the dialog box

Labels: ,

View Full Post